What is the senate?

The Rectorate, 20 professors, representatives from the administration and from the academic staff, 2 doctoral students – and 6 students, plus a few advisory members. This is the composition of the Senate – the central body of the university for all matters concerning teaching, studies and research. The 6 students you elect in the annual committee elections represent your interests against the majority of the other status groups. The Senate’s tasks include establishing and changing degree programmes, electing members of the Rectorate and much more. There are also Senate committees for many topics, such as the Senate Committee for Teaching and Further Education, the Senate Committee for Teacher Education, and many more.

The meetings take place about once a month and usually keep the (student) members busy for a whole day – not counting the work in the numerous working groups, committees and the consolidation of all study-related topics in stuvus and much more.