Teaching Award

Teaching Award of the University of Stuttgart

The University of Stuttgart awards the Teaching Prize for outstanding performance and great commitment in teaching. With this award, the University recognises special commitment in the area of study and teaching and documents the fundamental importance of teaching at the University of Stuttgart. Applications can be submitted by any member (or several members) of the university, whereby at least one student applicant must be involved. The support and opinion of at least one student council or departmental group is required. Self-applications are excluded.

Award decision

As a guideline for the award decision, criteria are defined by the student representatives in consultation with the Prorector for Academic Affairs (see Award Criteria). The criteria are evaluated annually and further developed for the next call for applications. The members of the ASR review the applications and conduct selection interviews with the applicants. On this basis and in connection with the established criteria, a non-binding prioritisation of the applications is established. The applications are submitted to the Senate Teaching Committee together with the proposal of the ASR members. The committee discusses the proposals and submits a proposal to the Senate. The Senate decides whether to accept or reject the proposal of the Senate Teaching Committee. The discussions of the students as well as the deliberations in the Senate Committee on Academic Affairs as well as in the Senate take place non-publicly or confidentially and, if necessary, with the exclusion of members who have themselves been proposed.


The award is usually presented at the University's annual celebration. The award is presented by the Rector and a student representative, with a student representative (usually one of the student applicants) giving the laudatory speech.

Since the 2020 annual celebration had to be cancelled due to Corona, it is not yet clear how the 2020 teaching award will be presented.

Prize winner 2020: PD Dr. rer. nat. Ingo Hartenbach

Nominees 2020:

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Bernard Weigand
  • Prof. Dr. Judith Tonhauser
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bin Yang
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Groß
  • M.PP. Johannes Nöldeke
  • Mr. Dr. rer. nat. Fabian Hantsch
  • Mr. Dr.-Ing. Christian Senger

Special prizes: In years when the field of nominees is particularly strong, the ASR may decide to award special prizes.

Special prizes 2020: Two special prizes, each endowed with 2000 euros, will be awarded by the stuvus. These go to:

  • Mr. Dr.-Ing. Christian Senger
  • Mr. M.PP. Johannes Nöldeke

Would you like to nominate a professor for the Teaching Award 2021? The documents you need (announcement, form and award criteria) will be available here shortly.

Contact us: If you have any questions, please send them to lehrepreis@stuvus.uni-stuttgart.de.

Digital Teaching Award

Due to Corona, teaching in the summer semester 2020 had to be converted to digital form very quickly, so the ASR decided to award teaching prizes for particularly good digital teaching this semester. 77 courses were nominated. The ASR will announce the winners shortly.